ALA Midwinter Day 2

This morning began early with New Councilor Orientation. I feel like I have a better idea of what to expect at tomorrow’s first Council session. Having never been to an ALA meeting, I wasn’t sure what Council would be like and didn’t have a full understanding of what Council does. Don’t get me wrong, I researched (like a good librarian) before I said yes to fill this position in the interim. But, in this case, there’s only so much that words on a website can convey. Now that I’ve been through the orientation, I am better prepared for what I’ll be doing tomorrow.

I also went to the Council/Executive Board/Membership Information Session this afternoon. While this was not my favorite part of the day–I’m not really one who enjoys listening to budget reports–I think it was a good chance for me to see firsthand how Council I will go, without as much pressure since no votes or decisions are made during the Information Session.

Leave a Reply

